Third International Workshop on Software Quality Assurance (SOQUA 2006)

in conjunction with FSE 14 / ACM SIGSOFT 2006 Portland, Oregon, USA – November 6, 2006

Workshop Homepage: http://2006.soqua.org/

Highlights:

- Invited talk by Wolfram Schulte, Microsoft Research
- Proceedings published in the ACM Digital Library

Motivation:

The goal of software engineering is to achieve high-quality software in a costeffective, timely, and reproducible manner. Advances in technology are enabling reductions in cost and schedule, but their effect on software quality assurance often remains unknown. Object-oriented concepts, component technology, components off the shelf (COTS) and open source software can dramatically reduce development time; however, assuring the quality of systems using these concepts is problematic.

The task of measuring and assuring the quality of software systems is getting harder with the advent of new software development processes. As an example, agile methods explicitly allow customers to change requirements very late in the project. Agile methods also take a "light weight" approach to project documentation and software testing. Reducing process overhead can improve response to change and speed product delivery, but may also adversely affect the project's risk profile. Little data exists on the quality of industrial systems developed using Agile methods.

The goal of this workshop is to bring together researchers, engineers, and practitioners to discuss and evaluate the latest challenges and breakthroughs in the field of software quality assurance and to identify future trends and problems in this area

Topics of Interest:

- Software testing: deterministic, random, oracles, tools, automation, processes, and standards
- Formal methods: program analysis, model checking, and verification
- Metrics for software quality assurance •
- Reviews, inspections, and walkthroughs
- Software quality assurance and its relation to knowledge management
- Software quality assurance and agile processes
- Processes and their relation to software quality assurance

Contributions:

Contributions can have the form of position papers, full technical papers, and short papers. They must be unpublished and not under consideration for publication elsewhere.

Papers and talks must be in English. Papers must not exceed 4 pages (position and short papers) resp. 8 pages (full technical papers) in ACM format (including all text, references, appendices, figures, and tables). Format papers according to the ACM proceedings style and submit them in Adobe portable document format (PDF) with all fonts embedded. The proceedings with all accepted papers will be published in the ACM Digital Library and will be available to all authors of accepted papers prior to the workshop (in electronic form).

Submissions must be made online via the submission site https://msrcmt.research.microsoft.com/SOQUA2006/. (You must allow cookies for this site to work!)

Important Dates: (firm!)

Submission of Abstracts: Aug 15, 2006 1pm PST Submission of Papers: Notification of Acceptance: Sept 29, 2006 Camera Ready Copy: Workshop:

Aug 22, 2006 1pm PST Oct 9, 2006 Nov 6, 2006

Steering and Organization Committee Chair

Johannes Mayer (Ulm University, Germany)

Program Committee Co-Chairs

Neelam Gupta (The University of Arizona, USA) Yves Ledru (LSR/IMAG, University of Grenoble, France)

Steering Committee

T.Y. Chen (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia) Hans-Dieter Ehrich (Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany) Patrick J. Schroeder (Milwaukee School of Engineering, USA) Franz Schweiggert (Ulm University, Germany) Jianjun Zhao (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)

Organization Committee

Ilinca Ciupa (ETH Zurich, Switzerland) Ralph Guderlei (Ulm University, Germany) Changhai Nie (Southeast University, China) Teade Punter (LaQuSo - Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands)

Program Committee (to be completed)

Silvia Abrahão (Valencia University of Technology, Spain) Paul Ammann (George Mason University, USA) Sami Beydeda (ZIVIT, Germany) T.Y. Chen (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia) Giovanni Denaro (Universita' di Milano-Bicocca, Italy) Silke Eckstein (Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany) Hans-Dieter Ehrich (Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany) Wolfgang Grieskamp (Microsoft Research, Redmond, USA) Sarfraz Khurshid (The University of Texas at Austin, USA) Fei-Ching Kuo (University of Wollongong, Australia) Darko Marinov (University of Illinois, USA) Oscar Pastor (Valencia University of Technology, Spain) Mauro Pezzè (Università degli Studi di Milano Bicocca, Italy) Mario Piattini (University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain) Lori Pollock (University of Delaware, USA) Franz Schweiggert (Ulm University, Germany) Christel Seguin (ONERA centre de Toulouse, France) Gabi Taentzer (Technical University of Berlin, Germany) Willem Visser (RIACS/NASA Ames, USA) Bernard Wong (University of Technology, Sydney, Australia) Eric Wong (University of Texas at Dallas, USA) Andreas Zeller (Saarland University, Saarbrücken, Germany) Jianjun Zhao (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)